Chattanooga State and Lincoln Memorial University announce Partnership

June 4, 2013 | | Staff Spotlight

Chattanooga, TN --- Chattanooga State Community College and Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) will announce a partnership between the two institutions on June 5 at 3 p.m. in the lobby of the Center for Business, Industry and Health Professions building.

Lincoln Memorial University, located in Harrogate, TN, will offer both the Master of Education (M.Ed.) degree and the Educational Specialist (Ed.S.) degree with a choice of concentrations in either curriculum and instruction or administration through the Carter and Moyers School of Education. All classes will be held Saturdays on Chattanooga State’s main campus. Classes started June 1 and will be ongoing.

Representatives from LMU attending the signing ceremony include Dr. James Dawson, president; and Dr. Clayton Hess, vice president for Academic Affairs; Dr. J. Michael Clyburn, dean, and Dr. Teresa Bicknell, associate dean, Carter and Moyers School of Education.

Dr. James Catanzaro, president, and Dr. Fannie Hewlett, Provost and vice president for Academic Affairs will represent Chattanooga State at the signing.

In addition, LMU will provide an academic scholarship, equivalent to 25 percent of the program’s tuition, to qualified full-time Chattanooga State faculty and staff.

LMU is a private four-year co-educational liberal arts university located on a 1,000-acre campus in Claiborne County near the Kentucky border in upper-east Tennessee. Professional development programs and lecture series also will be provided for Chattanooga State personnel by LMU. Chattanooga State

Community College is a comprehensive, regionally accredited community college, governed by the policies and guidelines as set forth by the Tennessee Board of Regents.  Chattanooga State’s mission is to transform the lives of individuals and to develop the capacities of the business and industrial communities through technical and postsecondary education.  Founded in 1965, the college serves a six-county area in Southeast Tennessee and offers more than 50 educational programs.